Date/Time Functions

Hello everyone.

This is Day 4 of my post on my Excel learning experience. I know I missed posting yesterday, but don't worry; I still went through the module I was to go through yesterday. I couldn't post because of the poor power supply here.

Here's a quick summary: I went through Text Functions in Ms. Excel yesterday. Chris (Excel Maven) took me through the CONCATENATE, TRIM, UPPER/LOWER/PROPER, LEFT/MID/RIGHT, LEN, and SEARCH/FIND functions. He also showed me how to combine these functions to create dynamic dashboards. Trust me, it was exciting!

Today, I went through the Date/Time functions. The first thing I learned was that there's a date value attached to every date since 1900. Apparently, the beginning of time for Excel is January 1st, 1900. So, for today, July 11th,2023, the date value would be 45118. That’s because today is the 45118th day since January 1st, 1900.

Next, I learned about the TODAY and NOW functions. The former tells us the current date, while the latter does the same but adds the current time as well.

Both functions are volatile. This means that with every worksheet adjustment, they change. While the date may not necessarily change until the next day, the time keeps updating with every change in the worksheet.

Next up, we have the YEAR, MONTH, DAY, HOUR, MINUTE, and SECOND functions.

Next, we have the EOMONTH function, which tells us the last day of the current month. And this can be manipulated to get us dates like the first day of the month or the next.

The remaining functions I learned about were the YEARFRAC, WEEKDAY, WORKDAY, NETWORDAY, and DATEDIF functions. I won't be going into details about them, but trust me, they were just as exciting to learn about as the rest.

Lastly, if there's one thing I've learned so far, it's that functions in Excel can be combined in many creative ways to produce dynamic dashboards. I've been having fun combining them in several ways.

Alright, that's all for today. Thank you, and let me know what you think.